Because Michigan takes a strong stand against intoxicated and impaired drivers, the penalties a person is faced with are rather harsh when charged with DUI. If you were recently charged with DUI in Lansing or another city in Michigan, below are some of the laws the courts abide by when handling DUI cases:
- The Courts must decide on drunk driving and drugged driving cases within 77 days after the arrest.
- An offender will receive a mandatory 6-month driver license suspension, even it is their first time being convicted of the crime. They may, however, be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension.
- A mandatory 1-year driver license suspension for a first conviction of operating with a BAC (Blood-Alcohol Content) level of .17 or higher. According to Michigan Law, this “High BAC” crime is one of the operating while intoxicated offenses. A High BAC driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 45 days of the license suspension, but only if an ignition interlock device is installed on any vehicle the offender owns or intends to operate. An ignition interlock device is something that is placed inside your vehicle and allows you to drive after you take a breathalyzer test and the results indicate you have not consumed alcohol. These devices are geared toward preventing a DUI offender from getting behind the wheel drunk again.
- The Court will order that a DUI offender participates in, and successfully completes, 1 or more rehabilitation programs, including alcohol treatment or a self-help program, or another program that is deemed to be appropriate by the court. The court must order this rehabilitation if the defendant has 1 or more prior convictions or is convicted of High BAC.
- A DUI offender will be required to serve five days or up to 1 year of consecutive jail time, or 30 to 90 days of community service, or both for a second conviction of drunk or drugged driving.
- Harsher license sanctions of revocation and denial for persons with multiple drunk or drugged driving convictions.
- Charge a reinstatement fee of $125 if your driver’s license was suspended, revoked, or restricted.
- Charge a Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for a driving while intoxicated conviction, including a High BAC conviction.
- Require an offender pay a Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for convictions for driving while impaired, with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine, or child endangerment.
[Source: State of Michigan Secretary of State].
Now, if you recently pulled over for DUI in East Lansing, Lansing, DeWitt, Okemos, Grand Ledge, or St. Johns and were arrested and charged with DUI, you are encouraged to contact the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. as soon as possible. Not only will Michigan criminal defense attorney Stuart R. Shafer answer all the questions you may have, but he will also help fight your charges in an effort to get them reduced or dismissed.
You can contact our firm now by calling 517-487-6603 to get an initial consultation scheduled where you will be given the opportunity to discuss your matter in further detail and learn about why you should consider hiring a criminal defense lawyer to represent you in your case.
You can reach the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. at:
1223 Turner Street, Suite 333
Lansing, MI 48906