After being involved in a drunk driving accident in Lansing, MI, there are several hurdles you will likely encounter and will need a DUI defense lawyer to help you overcome. For starters, if you were the one who caused the collision, you can expect to be charged with DUI among other offenses depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident. You are also at risk of being sued if the crash resulted in one or more parties suffering injuries or the accident resulted in a death.
Being Charged with DUI in the State of Michigan
After being charged with DUI, you are considered innocent until proven guilty. What this means is that there is a chance you can get your charges reduced or dismissed but only if you are represented by a legal expert who understands criminal law and has extensive experience in the courtroom. The fact is, DUI offenders are frowned upon heavily and if you fail to retain an attorney who will know how to fight your charges, the prosecutor handling the case will win and likely push for maximum penalties to be imposed.
Some of the penalties a first-time DUI offender might potentially face include:
- Having to pay a fine of $100-$500.
- Having to serve up to 93 days in jail.
- Having to complete 360 hours of community service.
- Losing your driving privileges for 30 days followed by license restrictions for 150 days.
- You may have your vehicle immobilized so that it cannot be utilized.
- If you are permitted to drive, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed inside your vehicle.
- Having six points added to your driving record.
[Source: State of Michigan’s Secretary of State’s Office].
Not only might a DUI land you in jail and having to pay a significant amount in fines and fees, but it could potentially affect your chances of obtaining employment or keeping the current job you have. So, if you want to increase your chances of getting your charges dropped or reduced to a lesser degree so that you aren’t faced with such harsh penalties, consider contacting the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. to retain a DUI lawyer who is going to keep your best interest in mind.
Can a person or family really sue me if I caused a drunk driving accident?
Yes, if you caused an individual to suffer any type of injury or the crash resulted in the loss of a life, the victim and/or the surviving family of the decedent can pursue you for damages, or compensation paid as a form of relief. Again, it would be in your best interest to hire a lawyer to defend you as some victims often pursue the liable party for thousands of dollars as medical care alone is rather costly. Now, if you are interested in learning more about the benefits of hiring an attorney after being charged with DUI in Lansing, MI, contact our office today to schedule an initial consultation with attorney Stuart R. Shafer.
You can reach the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. at:
1223 Turner Street, #333
Lansing, MI 48906
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!