Although the legal age to consume any amount of alcohol is 21 in the State of Michigan, teens often find themselves faced with temptation and peer pressure which then leads to them engaging in underage drinking. Despite the health issues alcohol can cause, it can also result in a teen making poor choices as it impairs their thought process and judgement. Because of this, many teens wind up getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle drunk or buzzed, unaware of the dangerous situation they have put themselves and others in.

 

Not only does an intoxicated teen increase their chances of being pulled over for DUI, but driving drunk also raises their chances of causing an alcohol-related accident. In fact, the State of Michigan Secretary of State cited that the risk of involvement in a motor vehicle crash is greater for teens than for older drivers at all levels of blood alcohol concentration (BAC).” Now, if you have a teenager who was recently pulled over and charged for underage drinking and driving, you are going to want to consult with a criminal defense attorney in Lansing, MI so that you can familiarize yourself with his or her rights along with the penalties they are up against. In an effort to help you do this, we have outlined for you below what some of the consequences are for underage drinking and driving in the State of Michigan.

 

Penalties for Underage Drinking and Driving in Michigan

When a person under the age of 21 is caught behind the wheel of a vehicle with a BAC level of .02 or more, or “with any presence of alcohol in [their] body except for that consumed at a generally recognized religious ceremony,” they have violated state law and are subject to the consequences that follow which include:

 

When it is their first offense:

  • Having to pay a fine up to $250, having to serve up to 360 hours of community service, or both.
  • Their driver’s license will be restricted for 30 days.
  • They will have four points added to their driving record.

When it is their second offense within seven years:

  • They shall be faced with one or more of the following penalties:
    • Up to a $500 fine.
    • Up to 60 days of community service.
    • Up to 93 days in jail.
  • Their driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. In the event they have a prior drunk or drugged driving conviction, they will be subject to a driver license revocation period of a minimum of one year or a minimum of five years if there was a prior revocation within seven years.
  • They shall have four points are added to their driving record.

[Source: State of Michigan Secretary of State].

 

What are the penalties when a teen is caught purchasing, consuming, or possessing alcohol?

If a person under the age of 21 is caught purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcohol, he or she shall be faced with the following penalties:

  • If it is their first offense, they will be fined $100.
  • When it is their second offense, they will be fined $200 and their driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60-day restriction period.
  • If it is their third offense, they will be fined $500, their driver’s license will be suspended for 60 days, and they will be subject to a driver’s license restriction period of 305 days.
  • The teen may be subject to alcohol screening and may also be required to complete community service hours.
  • His or her vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days.
  • Two points will be added to their driving record.

The only time a teen is permitted to transport alcohol in his or her vehicle is when they are accompanied by someone who is 21 years of age or older.

[Source: State of Michigan Secretary of State].

 

What penalties will a teen face if caught purchasing alcohol with a fake ID in Lansing, MI?

If a teen is caught purchasing alcoholic with a fake ID, he or he shall be fined $100 or less, have to spend 93 days in jail, or both. The teen’s license will also be suspended for 90 days, and alcohol screening may be required.

[Source: State of Michigan Secretary of State].

 

If your teen has been charged with any of the above-mentioned offenses in Lansing, MI, you are encouraged to contact the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C. at 517-487-6603. MI criminal defense attorney Stuart R. Shafer will be there to support your teen through the duration of their case and assist in getting his or her charges reduced to a lesser degree. To learn more about how our office can help you and your family get through this stressful time, contact us today to schedule an initial consultation.

 

You can reach the Law Offices of Stuart R. Shafer, P.C.at:

1223 Turner Street, #333

Lansing, MI 48906

Phone: 517-487-6603

Website: www.stushafer.com